BeBot - An Anarchy Online and Age Of Conan chat automaton

Development => Coding and development discussion => Topic started by: Madame on April 17, 2008, 06:30:19 am

Title: [Resolved] Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Madame on April 17, 2008, 06:30:19 am
Hunted around for a good bit and couldn't find a straight up guide for connecting to a remotely hosted MySQL database so..

I am looking for some sort of a walk through to doing this... I have a few MySQL databases available. Seeing as how hosting and such is not my specialty at all and trial and error for 30 minutes got me absolutely nothing someone who knows what they're up to would be loved on so many levels about now. :)

I have set up the database on the host side but cannot for the life of me figure out how to get the bot to find/access/cooperate with it via the conf/MySQL.conf . Assistance would be loved :) And I suppose I should post some of my customs while I wait.... >.>... Thanks in advance :)
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Temar on April 17, 2008, 06:50:57 am
you need to put the details of the server in the .conf
like the address the mysql server is at
and make sure ur server allows remote access with the login details u put in the .conf
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Madame on April 17, 2008, 07:03:41 am
:takes a deep breath and tries it all again: well at least it seems like I'm going in the right direction with it.... do need to confirm I can remotely access the database... but I assume I would be able to.... Perhaps this would help me more since this seems to be what confounds me repeatedly

<?php
   /*
   Database name
   */
   $dbase = "notsure";    <- all my db's come in the format 'screename_dbname'. So... this would be the full 'screename_dbname' I would assume..... please correct if I'm way off (or even slightly ;) )

   /*
   Database username
   */
   $user = "woohoo";    <-- obvious..

   /*
   Database password
   */
   $pass = "toodles";    <-- obvious..

   /*
   Database server (usually localhost)'
   */
   $server = "localhost";      <-- This would... become the exact address of that databse.. or.. the IP or........ :keeps trying things:


Trial and error.. I'll get this eventually :gets out large stick to start thumping things to make them work:
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Temar on April 17, 2008, 07:08:16 am
well when i used to have shared hosting were i dont have control over SQL, the DB was Localhost only

glad i dont use that no more, i got a VDS where i can do wat i want!
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Madame on April 17, 2008, 07:13:32 am
Well, this is running from my home PC and accessing a remote database >.>... Preferred this to trying to figure out how to get the website to talk to the bot or my resident db. I know how to make the page talk to the db but not the bot to talk to the db... :starts swinging thumping stick wildly:

"
Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'bot'@'my.location.com'
...."

Really tiring of that message... going to try a few more things then call it a night and hope someone trots along with the piece that I'm missing.... :/
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Temar on April 17, 2008, 07:15:08 am
why dont u just run mysql on ur pc too?
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Temar on April 17, 2008, 07:16:08 am
BTW if the Details are Correct like username and password im pretty sure access denied is because its localhost only and u can remote access it
Title: Re: Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Madame on April 17, 2008, 07:20:36 am
Holy flying english muffins! (Translation: It works.)

Seems the host tosses an additional tidbit on all of my usernames (xxx_username) that I was missing.

And I'm not hosting from my own pc because I would like to have backup bots on other computers with up to date db's. I have many modules that are highly variable and I would like to have the bot transition seemless. I commute regularly and if my host computer goes down to the point where I can't remote access it to resolve the issue I want to be able to call my orgmate and have him boot up his bot that uses the same database. :D

Anyways, I'm ECSTATIC atm so yes.... Chicago beware o.o.....

Thanks for making me not go attacking things with further objects. The thumping stick seemed to work well enough :D
Title: Re: [Resolved] Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Temar on April 17, 2008, 07:27:10 am
i just have my all my bots running on my server, i can manage anywere :D

i see you use Support Forums, (changed Topic to Resolved) :p
Title: Re: [Resolved] Connecting to Remote Host for MySQL
Post by: Madame on April 17, 2008, 06:12:47 pm
Well I saw it on another post by one of the gods of these forums so I figured I might as well keep in taste ;)

And I would run it all on my own server but..... this is free :) And.. free is good :)
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal