BeBot - An Anarchy Online and Age Of Conan chat automaton

Archive => Anarchy Online Archive => BeBot 0.4 support => Topic started by: clashbot on February 21, 2008, 03:44:39 am

Title: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 21, 2008, 03:44:39 am
trying to get two bots to relay, in sep orgs, I got one to relay just fine by having one bot join the privgroup, but it was only one way...if I had the other bot join, I wound up getting a loop with a lot of spam (still living that down) how can I get bi-directional relaying?
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 21, 2008, 02:58:15 pm
Not sure which way of relaying you use.

The easiest to setup for two bots is relaying in tells. Though the possible delay due to flood protection may make this a bit slow.

Better is using a private chatgroup of a bot acting as hub. This is much faster and allows relaying between more then just two bots. I'm not sure if using one of the participating bots as hub can work, never tried it that way. Using a dedicated hub which automatically invites the participating bots at once definitly works. Simply strip down a bot setup as raidbot, down to just Roster.php and Autoinvite.php. Then add the bots you want to relay between to the memberslist (make sure they are on notify!) and enable autoinvite for them. The relaying bots must be allowed to accept commands of the other bots in the relay, otherwise you won't see any text.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 21, 2008, 03:28:14 pm
ok, guess the best way would be to post the settings, there are two bots, tunderclash and tunderbash

relay settings for tunderbash
Quote
Settings for relay

Gcname:  Ascenbash
 Description: What name should we show when we relay from guild chat?
/tell tunderbash !set relay Gcname <new value>

Inc:  Guildchat
 Description: Where should incoming messages relay to
 Change to: [ Both | Guildchat | Privgroup | None ]

Logon:  On
 Description: Should logon spam be relayed to the linked org bots?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

LogonInPgroup:  On
 Description: Should logons be shown in the private group of the bot too?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

Org:  Both
 Description: Where should guild chat group relay to
 Change to: [ Both | Privgroup | Relaybots | None ]

OrgLogon:  Off
 Description: Should prefixing the org channel shortcut to the logon information be used when relaying logons?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

Pgname:  Ascenbash Guest
 Description: What name should we show when we relay from the private group?
/tell tunderbash !set relay Pgname <new value>

Priv:  Both
 Description: Where should private group relay to
 Change to: [ Both | Guildchat | Relaybots | None ]

Relay:  tunderclash
 Description: What is the name of the bot that we are using as a relay?
/tell tunderbash !set relay Relay <new value>

Status:  On
 Description: Relay should be
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

StrictNameCheck:  On
 Description: Has the name of the sender of tells with !gcr commands to be an exact match with the name of the relay bot?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

Type:  Pgroup
 Description: How should we relay, via a private group or via tells?  Tells is not the recommended method of handling relays, is slower, and less reliable, and can only be used between two bots.  See the help for !gcr for more information.
 Change to: [ Pgroup | Tells ]


settings for tunderclash:
Quote
Settings for relay

Gcname:  Ascension
 Description: What name should we show when we relay from guild chat?
/tell tunderclash .set relay Gcname <new value>

Inc:  Guildchat
 Description: Where should incoming messages relay to
 Change to: [ Both | Guildchat | Privgroup | None ]

Logon:  On
 Description: Should logon spam be relayed to the linked org bots?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

LogonInPgroup:  On
 Description: Should logons be shown in the private group of the bot too?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

Org:  Both
 Description: Where should guild chat group relay to
 Change to: [ Both | Privgroup | Relaybots | None ]

OrgLogon:  Off
 Description: Should prefixing the org channel shortcut to the logon information be used when relaying logons?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

Pgname:  Ascension Guest
 Description: What name should we show when we relay from the private group?
/tell tunderclash .set relay Pgname <new value>

Priv:  Both
 Description: Where should private group relay to
 Change to: [ Both | Guildchat | Relaybots | None ]

Relay:  tunderbash
 Description: What is the name of the bot that we are using as a relay?
/tell tunderclash .set relay Relay <new value>

Status:  Off
 Description: Relay should be
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

StrictNameCheck:  On
 Description: Has the name of the sender of tells with .gcr commands to be an exact match with the name of the relay bot?
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

Type:  Pgroup
 Description: How should we relay, via a private group or via tells?  Tells is not the recommended method of handling relays, is slower, and less reliable, and can only be used between two bots.  See the help for .gcr for more information.
 Change to: [ Pgroup | Tells ]

I have removed them as otherbots in the bot.conf as per other spots on the board suggested, and have each one pointing to the other as the relay, dunno if that is where the error lies, if I should have one point to the other and that one point to itself...
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 21, 2008, 05:19:35 pm
If you use private chat to relay all bots have to use the same private chatgroup, or no chat at all will be relayed.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 21, 2008, 05:46:01 pm
ok so have first bot join the pgroup of the 2nd bot and have the second bot join it's own pgroup?
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 21, 2008, 06:08:23 pm
A bot cannot join it's own private group, it is always in it. And you'll have to make sure the private group chat isn't simply relayed one-on-one to to org chat.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 22, 2008, 02:12:26 am
ok, current config now, created a bot, tunderrelay to act as the relay bot. I have the other bots set to use that bot as guild relay per the bot.conf file. I have invited the bots per tell to the relay bot to the relaybot guestchannel. I have configured the relay settings in the other bots to use the relaybot, and from the private group windows on my owner toon, I can see all the text in both orgs. My problem is that the private channel on the relay bot is not being forwarded to the individual member bots..what am I doing wrong now?
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 22, 2008, 09:20:19 am
You have to either set the access level for !gcr in the channel extpgmsg (!commands extpgmsg) to ANONYMOUS, or set it to GUEST and add each org bot to the other as GUEST, then you have to lower the access rights for !gcr to GUEST. Or use the security inteface and make the org bots members of each other. Using !member add otherbot won't work, as the roster updates will remove the bots again the next time it runs.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 22, 2008, 12:10:42 pm
ok, added all bots via admin add, created a security group with member access level MEMBER, added all bots to that security group, changed commands in tell and extpgmsg to give gcr guest level, using the automember module, I added all bots to safelist. this was done on all bots. the exception was as the relay was not a member of a guild, I am not getting access to relay in the relay bot...is this an issue? after doing all that, I still see it hitting the relay's pgmsg, yet that is not being picked up by the member bots..
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 22, 2008, 12:59:31 pm
You only need to add the two org bots to each other as a member, the raid bot working as hub just has to invite the two bots.

The relay hub doesn't need the relay module.

Your relay hub tunderrelay is getting the chat as !gcr commands in his private group? If that's the case and the two org bots still don't relay you most likely got an access level problem. Try settings !gcr for extpgmsg to ANONYMOUS (and only in extpgmsg, not the tell one). If it works then you do have some missing access rights.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 22, 2008, 08:38:57 pm
tried all that, still no go, doing what I hate doing, and killing the db and reinstalling all bots to see if it will fix problem..
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 23, 2008, 03:00:00 am
ok, after a much arduous task, bots were reinstalled, db was recreated, and permissions were set...I'm at a loss...I don't kow what the feasbility of someone meeting me in game would be, but maybe then I can see wehre my error lies...
if you can, look for me as lillitheve on rk2
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Tichy on February 23, 2008, 10:12:01 am
Just reinstalling won't fix anything...

Quote
Status:  Off
 Description: Relay should be
 Change to: [ On | Off ]

You should enable relay at all to make it work!

Did you check if the orgbots joins the relaybots privgroup? There should be a log line like "orgbot has joined relaybots privgroup.".

The relay settings does not look like a BeBot 0.4.3 one... do you use the most recent stable version of the bot?
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 23, 2008, 12:18:02 pm
yes, and redownloaded it to make sure, and yes tthe relay is saying they joined...
Quote
here 
[Tunderrelay] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Lillitheve: sorry morphia, first thing that popped into my head was RHPS
[Tunderrelay] Tunderrelay: .gcr [ Guest] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Lillitheve: sorry morphia, first thing that popped into my head was RHPS 
[Tunderrelay] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: i need an xfer
[Tunderrelay] Tunderrelay: .gcr [ Guest] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: i need an xfer 
[Tunderrelay] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: can u help me pls :)
[Tunderrelay] Tunderrelay: .gcr [ Guest] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: can u help me pls :) 
[Tunderrelay] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: sec, need to unequip some stuff ^^
[Tunderrelay] Tunderrelay: .gcr [ Guest] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: sec, need to unequip some stuff ^^ 

sample from the relay window

attached are links to screenshots

http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0003.png (http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0003.png)
http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0004.png (http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0004.png)
http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0005.png (http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0005.png)
http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0006.png (http://www.clan-ascension.org/scrn0006.png)
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 23, 2008, 12:20:26 pm
tich, it had been turned off when I had originally pasted that when I had one bot join the other, and then that bot join the first one, and well the loop was deafening...so killed it there real quick to stop loop.
It was turned back on for all subsequent tries, and is still on
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Tichy on February 23, 2008, 02:15:54 pm
The screenshots looks ok but the copy from the log lines looks suspicious:

Quote
[Tunderrelay] Tunderrelay: .gcr [ Guest] Tunderclash: .gcr [Ascension] Chokotoff: i need an xfer

Tunderrelay is your "hub" used by Tunderclash and Tunderbash, right? Tunderrelay should never say anything in its own private group. Tunderrelay is just a bot doing nothing else than inviting Tunderbash, Tunderclash, ... .
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 23, 2008, 06:53:28 pm
ok, so what do I need to do to fix that?
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Tichy on February 23, 2008, 09:44:05 pm
Let's go step by step:

1) Tunderrelay should be a simple raidbot:
 - configure to run as raid bot
 - enable autoinvite for new guest/member (via Settings -> Members)
 - afterwards add all you bots as guest/member
 - nothing else needs to be touched!

2) The org bots config looks ok. Check that there is no $otherbot["tunder..."] in any of you bot's config files.

3) Test it. If it does not work, post log lines from Tunerrelay and one of the org bots and descrip what exactly is not working.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 24, 2008, 02:15:56 am
ok, done, still not working, gcr isn't even showing up on relay's log window, here is the log from relay and bash
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 24, 2008, 03:37:41 am
wildhair guess, but would the fact that one of the bots is using a "." and the other one using a "!" for commands do anything?
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Temar on February 24, 2008, 06:20:27 am
yes i think useing a dif prefix would be a problem, try useing the same
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Temar on February 24, 2008, 06:32:50 am
say if your bots are useing ! and the relay is set to . it will ignore the !grc as the prefix isnt correct
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 24, 2008, 11:49:41 am
As Temar said, the bots HAVE to use the same command prefix. Currently there is no way to do it differently.

You got two choices now:
1) Change the command prefix to the same on both bots or
2) Add another org bot in one of the orgs which doesn't handle anything but relaying (simply disable all other modules) but is using the same command prefix as the bot in the other org.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 24, 2008, 11:53:58 am
ok, case finally closed, although it was kinda hokey.... in order for me to get it to work, all bots had to have the command prefix the same, the relay and one bot were using the same prefix, the other bot was technically the backup bot (but the bot I had more control over) was using ".". changed all of them to the same prefix.

second note.

Apparently just being members of the bot wasn't enough. I still had to invite both bots to the private group of the relay. As far as tunderrelay's chat window, it's messy, but not near as messy. The relaying is working now, thanks for everyone's help as I know I've been a pain in everyone's side.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Alreadythere on February 24, 2008, 05:31:42 pm
Apparently just being members of the bot wasn't enough. I still had to invite both bots to the private group of the relay.
Well yes, the idea is to use the private chat group of the relay hub for communication between the org bots. For that they do have to join the chat channels.
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: Temar on February 24, 2008, 07:19:17 pm
i think he means he still hasn't got autoinv working
Title: Re: relay problems
Post by: clashbot on February 25, 2008, 03:02:09 pm
as the bots are resting on my machine that I have access to, 24/7 it's not a big deal, just means a few more steps if I have to reboot/etc. But that is not the case. But do have a question, that probably would have saved me alot of headaches in the beginning. The bot that is acting as relay in the main org is tchnically the "always on" backup bot...stipulated by a command character of ".". Is there not a way of adding a line in the relay command that that could override that command character to the default for the purpose of the gcr only, so that no matter what command character an org might be using, as far as relay is concerned it will always be "!" and thus prevent the miscommunication of the bots? I am sure there are other orgs that are using something besides the standard command code. This is even more important as I was also planning on having a raid bot join the relay in the same org, and definately don't want 2 or 3 bots all using the same command character..
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal